Dreaming of Chickens

April is National Poetry Month and I’m enjoying it.  In fact, I’m enjoying it so much I had to share this poem, which means so much to me.

 

Last Night I Dreamed of Chickens by Jack Prelutsky

Last night I dreamed of chickens,
there were chickens everywhere,
they were standing on my stomach,
they were nesting in my hair,
they were pecking at my pillow,
they were hopping on my head,
they were ruffling up their feathers
as they raced about my bed.

They were on the chairs and tables,
they were on the chandeliers,
they were roosting in the corners,
they were clucking in my ears,
there were chickens, chickens, chickens
for as far as I could see…
when I woke today, I noticed
there were eggs on top of me.

 

 Now, that I’ve published this humorous poem by Jack Prelutsky, I am sure I am going to be bombarded with concerned and distressed comments and emails by those of you who actually believe that I am dreaming of chickens simply because I posted this post.  Furthermore, I am certain there will be many of you psychologists out there just dying to analyze that dream as if it were one that I really did dream.  It would probably disappoint you to no end to learn that in real life, I’ve never once dreamed of chickens, however, I sometimes dream of flying and I always dream of Tahiti or Australia.  Whatever you decide to believe about my existence off blog, is yours to believe.  Just understand, it might not be accurate and it might not be anywhere near factual.  You’re still welcome to have all the fun with that your little heart and mind desire!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Dreaming of Chickens

  1. Hmmmm. So, Ms Cat, what was it about this particular poem that caught your attention?

    Does the “dream” theme hold a particular attraction? Do you often find chickens, or poultry in general, humorous? Do you call or liken your children to chickens? Are eggs prevalent in your daily thoughts?

    Don’t worry. Take your time answering. You’re off the clock 😉

    TC!

    TC!

    Like

    1. Well, let’s see. What I found most interesting about this particular poem was the author’s word choice and the way he crafted the poems. It was about the craft for me, not about the chickens. I found myself wondering how long it took him to write that poem. It was most certainly not about chickens for me, though I’m sure there are those out there who are certain I don’t know what I’m talking about there. Let them think what they will. I know me. I’m okay with that. Chicken issues or not, I think my kids and I are going to be okay.

      While the dream theme holds some attraction for me on some levels, I don’t usually find chicken or poultry in general interesting or humorous though during my brief two minute research on this post, I did find some additional poems, stories and jokes about chickens. I might have to share these in spite of the fact that it might be considered completely disrespectful to chickens. After all, I wouldn’t want people to think I’m crashing and burning in life in general just because I happen to reference chickens a few times in jest.

      Contrary to popular belief, I do not and never have referred to my children as chickens, I have not likened them to chickens and I rarely speak about chickens in front of them. How appalling would that be?! Eggs are rarely prevalent in my daily thoughts though one the weekends they are considered good breakfast fare. Hmmm, I’m sure now I will be labeled as a chicken abuser and this will be considered even further evidence that I am a horrible parent.

      Oh woe is me! Enigmatic, whatever am I to do? 😉

      Like

    1. That’s really too bad. Euphemisms are such fun…as are analogies, allusions, and a whole host of other fun literary things I could do to you! LOL! 😉

      Like

What Did You Think?

