I’m the Original! I’m One-Of-A-Kind! Are You?

HowManyOfMe.com
Logo There is
1
person with my name in the U.S.A.

How many have your name?

It’s a long and tedious narrative as to how I stumbled upon this site.  I’ll cut to the chase. (Not!)  Since I’m home from work with a sick 8-year-old, I have all the time in the world, between grading papers, doing laundry and washing dishes, to be a tedious blowhard.  After all, the kid’s sleeping and I can’t think of anything else to write anyway, so why the heck not?

I  belong to a social networking site and an anonymous person from the other side of the country asked to add me as his friend.  Before accepting his invitation, I checked out his profile.  This is my standard procedure whenever any one sends me a friend request.  The thing I like about this particular social networking site is the fact that it is a.) intended for people over 40 and b.) not a dating site.  There are married people on there too.  The site is based around discussion groups of particular interests.  People join in on the discussion threads and comment back and forth.  Anyway, it’s an interesting little site.  I drop in there about once every couple of months to clear out my inbox and review all the friend requests that have accumulated during the time.  This time, I believe I had 48 waiting for me to respond.  I guess I hadn’t checked in since before the holidays.  While  checking out the soon-to-be friend’s profile, I noted that he was a reference librarian and had a blog of his own.  Blogomaniac that I am I had to check it out.  I’m glad I did.  It was a link from his blog that led me to the How Many of Me? site.  If you go there, you can find out how many other people in the country share your first and last name. 

I am pleased to announce that I am the only one in the nation that shares my first and last name.  My first name, however, is the 99th most popular first name and my last name is the 58,869th most popular last name.  Only 428 people in the nation share my last name, which really isn’t my name by birth, but mine by marriage. Even though the marriage didn’t last, I figured the name sounded cool, especially when paired with my first name, so I kept it.  This irritated the ex to no end and was far more convenient for me than reverting back to an earlier version of myself, something I am loathe to do.

Go check the site out then come back and tell me….

Are you an original?

 

3 thoughts on “I’m the Original! I’m One-Of-A-Kind! Are You?

  1. I don’t need a silly website to tell me I’m an original and that there is no one else out there like me. Still, I hopped over there to see and there are two others with my name, and my first name is the 555th most popular first name in the US. Phew. I’m relieved now I know that. Aren’t you? 🙂

    Like

What Did You Think?

