Heaven?

Alright, for all you spiritual wannabe theologians, or…okay…regular people who just are living this life…here are some questions for you.  They are one’s I’ve often pondered and, hmmm, well, I kind of wonder if other people ponder these same questions and, if they do or don’t, what do they ponder regarding the existence or nature of “heaven”.

Here are the questions:

1.  Do you believe in Heaven?

 

2.  What is Heaven like?

 

3.  Who gets in to Heaven?

 

4.  How do you get into Heaven…or is there a requirement of any kind?

 

5.  Is there a Hell? 

 

6.  If you believe there is a Hell, who goes there?

 

7.  If you don’t believe there is a Hell…why not? 

Hey, there are no right or wrong answers here as far as I’m concerned.  I personally believe we are all on some sort of journey, but who am I to judge the rightness or wrongness of others’ journeys.  I just simply want to know what the world thinks on these things. 

Love to hear from you.  Make a comment.  It will broaden and enrich me, I know that for sure!

6 thoughts on “Heaven?

  1. 1. Do you believe in Heaven?

    No.

    2. What is Heaven like?

    N/A

    3. Who gets in to Heaven?

    N/A

    4. How do you get into Heaven…or is there a requirement of any kind?

    N/A

    5. Is there a Hell?

    No.

    6. If you believe there is a Hell, who goes there?

    N/A

    7. If you don’t believe there is a Hell…why not?

    Insufficient evidence.

    Like

  2. Hi there, Ubiquitous Che,
    Thanks for stopping in and investigating The Wild Mind. Seems you’re pretty clear on what you think about Heaven and Hell. You don’t believe in either. Can I ask, what do you believe in?

    Like

  3. Thanks for such a polite question. 😀

    First off, I don’t usually like using the word ‘believe’ – there’s some baggage attached to it that I don’t like. But since I don’t think you’re about to jump on me for using the term, I’m happy to trundle along.

    I believe that humans are inherently noble beings that are born into a state of fear and ignorance.

    I believe that the vast majority of the evil done by humans is the result of that fear and ignorance.

    I believe that if we can address our fear and ignorance then we can cure the vast majority of the evil done by humans.

    I believe that the best way to address our fear and ignorance is through understanding and wisdom.

    I believe that the only person who can appropriately address the fear and ignorance of an individual human is that individual human. It is the role of a teacher to provide the opportunity for the student to learn for himself.

    I believe that the doctrine of Original Sin prevents the people who believe it from appropriately addressing their fear and ignorance.

    I believe that the idea of an eternal afterlife prevents the people who believe it from appropriately addressing their fear and ignorance.

    I believe that the idea that there is a divine being who can and will save us due to his divine grace prevents the people who believe it from appropriately addressing their fear and ignorance.

    Hmm… There’s more to it than that, but I think that will do for now. 😀

    Note that I don’t claim to neccesarily know all these things. Only that I believe them to be true.

    Like

  4. Ubiqutious Che,
    Thanks for elaborating. It was very nice to read what you had to say. I’m not sure I agree with you on every point, but where I disagree, it would be in places of degree, meaning I’m not certain I agree your premises are true unilaterally across the board in every circumstance. However, this is not about me agreeing or not, this is about gaining information. That information being what others think about these things. I’m not out to find out what is true according to some religious party line, but I really do want to know other people think for no other reason than to be able to say to myself, “It seems this is what people do or do not think about this or that.” That being said, I think I agree with you on more than I disagree with you on. Intuitively, I know fear and ignorance, especially fear due to ignorance has stymied me and caused me problems throughout life. And, in my own personal experience, I have seen your last three premises borne out many times in the lives of many people I know. While, these things might be true in my experience, I am not sure I’m ready to cast my vote in the pool of they must always be true for all people all the time. I don’t know. It’s something I’m still trying to articulate for myself and I appreciate your contribution. I also really appreciated your last comment. It seems to convey a humbleness and honesty which is refreshing.
    Thanks!

    Like

  5. Hi Cabspace,

    I’d have to agree with Ubiqutious Che’s answers but if there were a heaven and hell I kinda like the following idea, (copied and pasted from my blog).

    So there’s this book, a big one, and it comes with a big comfy chair. And the big, big book has everything! Every teeny-weeny detail ever. But more than that, every detail is about you.

    Every moment of your life described from every single angle. Every utterance you ever made, every twist and turn of your limbs and every effect you ever had on another living soul are there.

    Thing is, it’s so well-written you feel for the characters. Deeply. Truly. You called Sally Watkins “fat” in 8th grade. You read it again now, when you’re dead, and you can feel yourself shrivel, feel your poor little heart sob. And you know, you did that.

    You feel the joy too. Every moment of happiness you made real is there for you to feel. Really actually feel. Imagine it! Feeling the joy you made!

    It’s all there, the good and the bad that you made. And there’s no escape.

    Martin Luther King is feeling, individually and in microscopic detail, the supreme welling of pride and hope in 6 million breasts.

    Adolf Hitler is feeling, over and over and over and over, the visceral misery of 6 million people. And he understands their pain. He’s feeling it.

    The book, of course, takes absolutely forever to read.

    And what’s great is, it’s all true. Not “true” in the fragmented, disjointed collapsable “true” we live with, but actually universally, utterly true.

    To bring joy into the World.

    To have others know our pain.

    To know truth.

    Have a lovely day 🙂

    Like

  6. Hi Lucy Lowe,
    Thanks for joining the conversation at The Wild Mind. Your illustration was powerful. Wow! Both scenarios would be heaven or hell to experience.

    Like

What Did You Think?

